Heated night at the track

  • Thu Jul 25th, 2019 8:14am
  • Sports

Grays Harbor Raceway saw the sun shining bright and temperatures in the low 80’s as the 360 Sprint Cars, Shipwreck Beads Modifieds, Cut Rate Auto Parts Street Stocks and Outlaw Tuners took to the 3/8 banked clay oval.

Cut Rate Auto Parts Street Stocks

The 20 lap Cut Rate Auto Parts Street Stocks feature event started the evening as Shelton’s Samantha Stevens and Rodger Perry of Belfair set the front row.

At the start, Perry took the early lead as Tanner Bridges of Hoquiam moved into second. A hard-charging Matt White of Aberdeen ran third, running up on the top side of the raceway.

Perry continued to lead with White right behind, waiting for a mistake.

Aberdeen’s Austin Kerrigan moved into the top three and took the lead from Perry on lap 3.

Zack Simpson of Aberdeen worked his way into second, bringing Montesano driver Scott Fritts with him.

Lap 7 saw Simpson spin while running second, bringing out the caution. On the restart, Kerrigan led Fritts, Perry and White to the green flag, but the caution flew for Cory Sweatman of Aberdeen with mechanical issues.

Late in the feature, Kerrigan spun in turn one — bringing out the caution — but regained his spot due to not stopping the car. On the restart, Kerrigan led White, Fritts, and Simpson to the green flag.

Simpson worked his way into the second spot setting his sights on the lead.

Kerrigan picked up the win in a controversial Street Stocks feature. Simpson, Fritts, White and Perry rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Kerrigan and Simpson.

360 Sprint Cars

Quilcene’s JJ Hickle led the field to the green flag in the 25 lap 360 Sprint Car feature.

Mill Creek driver Cam Smith ran in the second spot, looking to pull a slide job on Hickle for the lead.

The caution flag flew for Shelton’s Jay Cole, spinning to a stop in turn one and contact from Sean Johnson of Covington.

Hickle’s night came to an end as well after a fire, giving the lead to Smith.

On the restart, Smith led Seth Bergman of Owasso, Oklahoma and Colton Heath of Marysville. Heath made a move for second and took over the runner-up position, but Bergman made a pass to regain the lead.

Bergman set his sights on Smith for the lead and made the pass in turn three on lap 5. Bergman had tough company as Heath moved into second and stayed near the back bumper.

Bergman maneuvered his way though lap traffic, slowly pulling away from Heath, going on to pick up the win over Heath, Smith, Mount Vernon’s Trevor Cook and Jeff Dunlap of Renton.

Heat race winners were Heath and Bergman.

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

Kyler Moore of Seabeck and Shelton’s Dan West Jr. led the field to the green flag on the 25 lap Shipwreck Beads Modified feature event.

Moore took the early lead, as the battle for second between Mt. Vernon’s Kevin Smith and West Jr. Smith took over the runner-up spot.

Albany, Ore’s Matthew Drager saw issues in turn four, making contact with the tractor tire, bringing out the caution on lap 3.

Smith looked to the high side a handful of times to take the lead from Moore. Smith took the lead on lap 5.

The caution flag flew on lap 6 for a multiple car pile up on the backstretch. On the restart, Smith led Moore and West Jr. to the green flag.

West Jr. looked to try and make a move to second but slid up the track, giving up a handful of positions.

Ken Schrader of Concord, North Carolina moved into the top three and set his sights on Moore for second. Schrader and Moore raced side-by-side for multiple laps, not letting Smith get ahead too far with the lead.

Schrader moved into the second spot, and ran the high side of the 3/8 banked clay oval looking to track down Smith. A three-car battle for the lead ensued between Smith, Schrader and Moore.

Schrader looked to the outside late in the race a handful of times to try and take the lead from Smith, grabbing the lead on lap 22.

Moore also moved his way into second, shuffling Smith back to third.

Schrader went on to pick up his first career Grays Harbor Raceway feature. Moore, Smith, Shelton’s Devan West and West Jr. rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Drager, Smith, and West Jr, with Campbell River, BC driver Lane Zerbin picking up the B-Main win.

Outlaw Tuners

Olympia’s Zachary Stallsmith took the early lead in the 15 lap Outlaw Tuners feature.

Maynard Barnum Jr. of Raymond ran in the second position with Timmy Phillips of Spanaway in third.

Del Tucker Jr. of Silverdale worked his way into the top three, getting by Phillips and almost making a 2-for-1 pass in turn four.

It didn’t take long for Tucker Jr. to move into second, looking to track down Stallsmith for the lead. Tucker Jr. looked to the low side in turn four, racing hard with Stallsmith and taking the lead in turn one.

The battle for third saw Barnum Jr. and Tumwater’s Nathan Foster battle for position with Foster taking over the position. Foster set his sights on Stallsmith, taking over second. Howard Vos of Mt. Vernon moved into the top three, getting around Stallsmith.

Tucker Jr. was the man to beat and took the checkered flag over Foster, Vos, Hoquiam’s Tyler Sundstrom and Phillips.

Heat race winners were Foster and Sundstrom.

Racing resumes Friday and Saturday night as the 20th Annual Shipwreck Beads Northwest Modified Nationals will take over the high banks 3/8 banked oval. Also on hand will be the PHRA Dwarf Cars.

Gates will open at 5:30 p.m. with racing at 7.