Pace Setter: Montesano’s Lindsay Pace named State Player of the Year

Bulldogs pitcher leads group of 18 Twin Harbors athletes named to All-State teams

The Montesano High School softball team got a little icing on the cake of its state-championship winning season as senior Lindsay Pace led a bevy of Bulldogs named to the Washington State Softball Coaches Association All-State Team last week.

Pace received the association’s highest honor as she was named the 1A State Player of the Year as a pitcher.

The recent graduate pitched all but 12 1/3 innings for the Bulldogs in 2019, leading Monte to a 5-4 victory over Castle Rock in the state title game on May 25.

Pace’s stats — both in the circle and at the plate — validate her POY status. The right-hander ended the school year with a 3.41 ERA, a 1.450 WHIP and had 203 strikeouts to 73 earned runs in 149 2/3 innings pitched.

On offense, Pace led Monte with a .532 batting average and a 1.538 OPS.

But she wasn’t the only Pace to receive recognition on the All-State Team as father and legendary Monte coach, Pat Pace, was named Co-Coach of the Year with Castle Rock’s Ron Strode.

Bulldogs outfielder Matti Ekerson was also named to the state’s First Team. Ekerson batted .516 this season — second on the team behind Pace – had an OPS of 1.267, scored 34 runs and led the Bulldogs with 49 hits.

Monte catcher Kate Klinger, infielder Katie Granstrom and outfielder Jessica Stanfield were joined by Elma infielder Kali Rambo on the All-State Second Team.

The 2B All-State Team featured five players from Pe Ell-Willapa Valley’s state-runner-up squad, led by the battery of pitcher Kamryn Adkins and catcher Grace Hodel, both of whom were named First Team.

Also earning First Team nods were PWV third baseman and Pacific League MVP, Britney Patrick, middle infielder Katie Adkins and outfielder Katelyn McGough.

Ocosta’s Kaylee Barnum, the Pacific League’s 2018 MVP, was also named a First Team All-State infielder.

Aberdeen’s Sierra Hammond was named an All-State Honorable Mention at catcher for the 2A section as was Wishkah’s Abbi Van Blaricom, who received the same honor in the 1B section.

PWV catcher Grace Hodel, seen here in a game against Ocosta earlier this season, was one of five Titans named to the 2B All-State First Team on Tuesday. (Ryan Sparks | Grays Harbor News Group)

PWV catcher Grace Hodel, seen here in a game against Ocosta earlier this season, was one of five Titans named to the 2B All-State First Team on Tuesday. (Ryan Sparks | Grays Harbor News Group)

WSSCA 1A All-State Softball Team

Player of the Year — Lindsay Pace, P, Montesano

Co-Coaches of the Year — Ron Strode, Castle Rock; Pat Pace, Montesano

First Team

Pitcher — Lindsay Pace, Montesano; Payton Kessler, Castle Rock

Catcher — Zoe Naugle, Castle Rock

First Baseman — Olivia Charbonneau, Lakeside

Infielder — Sadee Huckleberry, Castle Rock; Ashlyn Yamane, Warden; Jocelyn Chagoya, Warden; Truh Merriman, Cascade

Outfielder — Brie Frazier, Lakeside; Hannah Brock, Freeman; Matti Ekerson, Montesano

Utility — Ariana Lombardi, Cle Elum

Second Team

Pitcher — Megan Isayev, Lakeside; Paris Orchard, College Place

Catcher — Kate Klinger, Montesano

First Baseman — Coral Clark, La Center

Infielder — Katelyn Nass, Cle Elum; Kali Rambo, Elma; Jayden Olson, Forks; Katie Granstrom, Montesano

Outfielders — Hannah Hodgson, Deer Park; Mattie Mauseth, Connell; Jessica Stanfield, Montesano

Utility — Morgan Erickson, Deer Park

Honorable Mention

Pitcher — Jaylee Lane, Deer Park; Sarah Paulson, Cascade; Destry Dineen, Elma; Quin

Mikel, Elma; Britney Dean, Forks

Catcher — Aggie Bennett, Lakeside; Emma Cochran, Colville; Natalie Orchard, College

Place; Olivia Cain, Elma; Rian Peters, Forks

Infielder — Reese Dykstra, Lynden Christian; Kerianne Cline, Castle Rock; Rhiannon Sibbett, Castle Rock; Bailey Whitney, Warden; Davi Vaughn, Cle Elum; Jazlynn Johnson, Okanogan; Paxton Wood, Okanogan; Sam Vanderwel, Granite Falls

Outfielder — Gracie Kimball, Castle Rock; Kaija Lovelady, Cascade; Ellie Christensen, College Place; Maddie Serles, Okanogan; Cienna Gunter, Naches Valley; Molly Johnston, Elma.

Utility — Renee Lambert, Cascade; Destiny Dunlap, Nooksack Valley

WSSCA 2B All-State Team

Player of the Year — Hailey Rainey, P, Adna

Coach of the Year — Bruce Pocklington, Adna

First Team

Pitcher — Hailey Rainey, Adna; Alison Shaler, Northwest Christian (Colbert); Kamryn Adkins, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

Catcher — Grace Hodel, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

First Baseman — Jordan Rabe, Northwest Christian (Colbert)

Utility — Skye Snow, Adna; Ada Williams, Napavine

Infielder — Payton Aselton, Adna; Kaylee Barnum, Ocosta; Faith Iverson, Northwest Christian (Colbert); Britney Patrick, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley; Katie Adkins, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley

Outfielder — Katelyn McGough, Pe Ell-Willapa Valley; Thea Seitz, Friday Harbor; Hailey Brooks, Morton-White Pass

Honorable Mention

Pitcher — Grace Pauls, Friday Harbor

Catcher — Emma Eko, Adna

Infielder — Keeley Studebaker-Smith, Toutle Lake; Jaidyn Stephens, Liberty; Bailey Sobosky, Chewelah

Other WSSCA All-State Softball Team Honorees

2A Honorable Mention — Sierra Hammond, C, Aberdeen

1B Honorable Mention — Abbi Van Blaricom, C, Wishkah Valley

To reach Hasani Grayson, sports reporter for The Daily World, send an email to or call 360-537-3954.