Monte golfers top Elma

Eagles volleyball team tops Black Hills


Montesano 178, Elma 204

Montesano’s Ben Wills scored a 9-hole round of 37 to lead the Bulldogs to a 178-204 victory over the Elma Eagles last Tuesday at Oaksridge Golf Course.

Monte also got a low score from Ben Royer, who finished six strokes back of Wills with a 43.

Jared Moline carded the lowest round for the Eagles, matching Royer for second overall with a 43.

Montesano’s junior varsity team also defeated their East County rivals, winning 210-237.

Montesano (178) — Wills 37; Royer 43; Nate Johnson 44; Peyton Prom 54

Elma (204) — Moline 43; Max Olson 46; Christian Spencer 55; Bradey Bunch 60; Noah Hull 60


Elma 3, Black Hills 1

The Elma Eagles rallied from down 1-0 to win three straight sets and win their home opener over Black Hills on Thursday.

The Eagles (2-0) lost the first set 25-19 before rallying to win the next three sets by scores of 25-19, 25-20 and 25-20.

Quin Mikel and Jalyn Sackrider both had big games striking the ball off feeds from Ella Moore. Mikel had a game-high 27 kills from her outside hitter position while Sackrider added 14 kills. Moore totalled 40 assists on the evening.

“We started slow and then we just picked up our energy and started playing our game,” Elma head coach Kendra Henry said. “Black Hills was very scrappy to start but we stayed with it.”

Next up for the Eagles was a Tuesday game at Castle Rock, which occurred too late for this edition.


Dylan Todd wins Ocosta Invitational

Ocosta’s Dylan Todd timed his kick perfectly to pass Mark Morris’ Eric Bauman to win the Ocosta Invitational on Saturday in Westport.

Todd, who finished with a time of 16 minutes, 8 seconds, shadowed Bauman for most of the 2.95-mile race before making a move in the final third-mile. Once Bauman was in his rear-view mirror, Todd cruised to the victory with what Ocosta head coach Aaron Anderson dubbed an impressive performance.

“He just looked great,” Anderson said of Todd. “For him being a sophomore and finishing that strong, it was impressive to watch.”

Todd wasn’t the only Ocosta runner with a solid showing on Saturday as Anderson also noted brothers Matthew and William Idso for a strong showing early in the season.

Matthew Idso placed 10th with a time of 18:07 followed by William Idso in 11th with a time of 18:09.

“My top three boys ran 1:40 faster than their times last season, which is incredible,” Anderson said of Todd and the Idso brothers. “It’s going to be fun to watch those three kids this season.”

Hoquiam freshman Timmy Higgins was the only other Twin Harbors area athlete to place in the top 10, finishing sixth with a time of 17:23.

Elma’s Tyler Bristow finished 12th in the 28-man field with a time of 18:26.

In the girls race, Forks’ Madelyn Archibald took the top spot with a time of 21:22.59.

Ocosta’s Natalie Cain placed second with a time of 21:53.80.

Hoquiam freshman Macie German placed fourth with a 22:01.

Other local athletes to place in the top 10 were Elma’s Autumn Sayres (24:01, 9th) and Raymond’s Genevieve Sarich (24:01.29, 10th).

For full results, visit


Results for the Don Scott Memorial Pro-Am Tournament

Held Aug. 24-25 at Grays Harbor Country Club

Team Winners — 1, John Sand, Mike Sand, Tom Cosper, Kirk Figg 239. 2(T), Gordy Graybeal, Travis Jelovich, Carl Waara, Dave Pimentel 240. 2(T), Chris Hansen, Jim Maki, Fritz Bramstedt, Travis Davis 240. 4, Curt Zander, Cory Johnson, Mark Forbes, Jim Bunch 242. 5, Kris Runge, Brandon Peterson, Tandy Alexander, Josh Witherbee 243.

Professional: Gross — 1(T), Brian Davis 140. 1(T), Shane Prante 140. 3(T), Ron Espedal 141. 3(T), Curt Zander 141. Net — 1, Gordy Graybeal 135. 2, Doug Gullikson 141.

Amateur: Gross — 1, John Sand 130. 2, Chris Bae 139. 3, Scott Crouthamel 141. 4, Chris Hansen 143. Net — 1(T), James Byrd 130. 1(T), Fritz Bramstedt 130. 3(T), Dave Achziger 132. 3(T), Brandon Peterson 132. 5, Denny Bemis 134. 6(T), Mark Johnson 135. 6(T), Ron Martinez 135. 8, Cory Johnson 136. 9, Carl Waara 137. 10, Dino Blackburn 138.