Four classes lead to full night in Elma

Rice, Miller, Smith and Briggs Jr. win feature races

Four divisions took to the 3/8 banked clay oval on Saturday night with the Wingless Sprint Series back for its second appearance of the year. The Shipwreck Beads Modifieds, Northwest Focus Midgets Series and Outlaw Tuners were also in action.

Wingless Sprint Series

Fifteen wingless sprint cars signed in on the evening, with the 30 lap feature seeing Elma’s Michael Millard taking the early lead. Queen Creek, Arizona driver Shawn Rice moved quickly into second, getting by Otto Jorgenson of Tacoma.

Millard had tough company as Rice made it to Millard’s back bumper after a handful of laps.

The battle for third was the race to watch between Jorgenson, Eagle Creek, Ore’s Lindsay Barney and Bert Johnson of Lake Stevens. Johnson ran the high side looking to work his way by Jorgenson. Lap traffic became a factor early as Rice moved around Millard for the lead on lap seven.

The red flag flew on Lap nine for Otto Jorgenson after a violent flip down the backstretch.

On the restart, Rice quickly pulled away as Johnson, Barney, and Jonathan Jorgenson of Tacoma battled for third. Jorgenson moved his way by Millard for second, looking to track down Rice.

At the end of the 30 laps, Rice picked up the win over Jonathan Jorgenson, Barney, Rob Lindsey of Sherwood, Ore and Millard.

Jonathan Jorgenson and McMinnville, Ore. driver Lance Hallmark were heat race winners. Jonathan Jorgenson also picked up the dash, with Johnson getting fast time.

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

Dan West Jr. of Shelton led the 18 car field to the green flag in the 25 lap Shipwreck Beads Modified feature race.

Seabeck’s Kyler Moore took the early lead from West Jr. after racing side-by-side for a handful of laps.

Shelton’s Scott Miller moved into third, racing hard with Tom Sweatman of Cosmopolis.

A lot of three-wide racing through the field saw multiple battles for position. The battle for fifth saw a pair of Shelton drivers, Devan West and Brenton Schnitzer race side-by-side for multiple laps as Zack Simpson of Aberdeen joined in on the battle.

Moore kept some distance between himself and West Jr. until a lap 11 caution for Tyson Blood of Olympia saw the field bunch back up.

On the restart, Miller looked to the outside working his way past Moore and West Jr. to take over the lead as the battle for second became a three-car exchange between Moore, West Jr. and Sweatman.

Midway through the feature event Sweatman worked his way into second, looking to track down Miller. Sweatman made it to the front bumper a handful of times, but couldn’t make the pass as Miller went on to pick up the feature-event win.

Sweatman, Moore, Simpson and West Jr. rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Schnitzer, Miller, and Moore.

Northwest Focus Midgets Series

Seattle’s Ray Stebbins led the field to the green flag, taking the early lead in the 25 lap Northwest Focus Midgets Series feature.

Bow’s Shane Smith moved into the second spot, bringing AJ Fugitt of Poulsbo with him. Fugitt worked his way past Smith and Stebbins to take over the lead, using the high side of the 3/8 banked clay oval.

Stebbins had tough company as a four-car battle ensued until the red flag flew on lap three for Newberg, Oregon’s Elijah Gibbs, getting upside down on the backstretch.

On the restart, Smith made a dive-bomb move to get around Fugitt and take over the lead. Fugitt stayed near the back bumper of Smith looking to take back the top spot, but couldn’t make a pass.

Nik Larson of Lake Stevens and Spanaway driver Chris Greene battled for third, as the front duo slowly pulled away from the field.

Fugitt closed back in a handful of times to try and make a charge at the lead. Lap after lap, Fugitt stayed close to Smith, and Larson caught both late in the race. Larson made a move at Fugitt for second and looked to track down Smith in the closing laps.

Lap traffic made things interesting with a few laps to go, but Smith held on to pick up his first career Grays Harbor Raceway feature event victory. Larson, Fugitt, Alex Peck of Spanaway and Greene rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Larson and Smith.

Outlaw Tuners

The 15 lap Outlaw Tuner feature event saw a lot of action as Don Briggs Jr. of Woodland took the early lead.

Maynard Barnum of Raymond ran in the second spot. Barnum made a pass on the low side on lap two, taking the lead from Briggs Jr. as he was shuffled back to sixth.

Zack Floreck of Tenino ran in the second spot as a four-car battle ensued for the position.

Hoquiam’s Tyler Sundstrom looked low and took over the second spot, making a run at Barnum for the lead. Sundstrom saw issues a few laps later, bringing out the caution on lap seven.

On the restart, Barnum led Zachary Stallsmith of Olympia and Tumwater’s Nathan Foster to the green. Stallsmith sat in the second position as Foster battled Floreck for third.

Briggs Jr. saw himself back in the mix, getting by Floreck and avoiding a crash between Foster and Stallsmith, bringing out the caution on lap 10.

A late-race battle between Floreck and Barnum saw Floreck take over the top spot. Briggs Jr. moved by Barnum for second, setting his sights on the leader. Briggs Jr. worked the high side and raced side-by-side coming to the white flag. Briggs Jr. took the lead in turn three to take the win over Floreck, Del Tucker Jr of Silverdale, Barnum and Marlena Sheats of Olympia.

Heat race winners were Foster and Floreck.

Racing will resume Saturday night with the 360 Sprint Cars back in action with the dual-track bonus, the Washington Modified Tour and the Cut Rate Auto Parts Street Stocks scheduled to race. Gates open at 5:30 with racing set to begin at 7.

For more information, visit

Photo by AR Racing Videos                                 Don Briggs Jr. charges down the front stretch during his Outlaw Tuner feature-race victory on Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma.

Photo by AR Racing Videos Don Briggs Jr. charges down the front stretch during his Outlaw Tuner feature-race victory on Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma.

Grays Harbor Raceway Results

June 8, 2019

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds

A-Main: 1. 26 Scott Miller, 2. 11s Tom Sweatman, 3. 14K Kyler Moore, 4. 12 Zack Simpson, 5. 1W Dan West Jr, 6. 97 Tyson Blood, 7. 41 Tim Phillips, 8. 87K Brenton Schnitzer, 9. 87 Tyler Walker, 10. 5W Devan West, 11. 34T Jason Tole, 12. 9K Morgan Criswell, 13. 28 Brian Harding, 14. 58 David Wolfard, 15. 43K Shane Kerrigan, 16. 8 Steve Bulpitt, 17. 714 Zach Fuller, 18. 75 Casey Smith

Wingless Sprint Series

A-Main: 1. 96 Shawn Rice, 2. 89 Jonathan Jorgenson, 3. 57 Lindsay Barney, 4. 23 Rob Lindsey, 5. 9 Michael Millard, 6. 8H Lance Hallmark, 7. 52 Tim Alberding, 8. 38 Nate Geister, 9. 18 Gene Cannon, 10. 26 Tim Kennedy, 11. 9J Bert Johnson, 12. 8X Otto Jorgenson

Northwest Focus Midgets Series

A-Main: 1. 44 Shane Smith, 2. 16 Nik Larson, 3. 5 AJ Fugitt, 4. 13A Alex Peck, 5. 28 75i Chris Greene, 6. 28 Kenny Farris, 7. 11T Ray Stebbins, 8. 90 Brendan White, 9. 35G Elijah Gibbs, 10. 14 Garrett Thomas

Outlaw Tuners

A-Main: 1. 713 Don Briggs Jr, 2. 31 Zack Floreck, 3. 99 Del Tucker Jr, 4. 2 Maynard Barnum, 5. 323 Marlena Sheats, 6. 7 Josh Walker, 7. 10 Cody Scouller, 8. 30 Riker Walker, 9. 75X Robert Lokosek, 10. 63 Nathan Foster, 11. 60 Zachary Stallsmith, 12. 23 Tyler Sundstrom, 13. 81 Meghan White, 14. 162 Cory Lash, 15. 96 Mark Champine

Four classes lead to full night in Elma