Elma Auto Racing announces 2020 Hall of Fame class

Elma Auto Racing names 2020 HoF class

Five men and one woman comprise the Elma Auto Racing Hall of Fame Class of 2020 as announced by EARHoF president Rick Leighty earlier this week.

Mary Skaramuca will become the first female driver inducted into the EARHoF. The champion powder puff racer began her career in 1955 and was one of the drivers to which other powder puff drivers compared themselves. Skaramuca claimed the 1955 and 1956 powder puff titles.

John Goodwin Jr. followed in his fathers footsteps and became a stock car driver. Always one of the drivers to beat, Goodwin claimed the 1985 hobby stock crown in one of the few Fords running at that time. Craig Green, who nominated Goodwin, explained in the nomination application that Goodwin was always a crowd pleaser and treated the fans well, especially the youngsters.

Dean Clark was a 20 year veteran of Northwest limited modified racing and could be found wherever there was a race being held. Dean’s son Chip noted that his dad always claimed that the Elma half-mile was his favorite track. Clark went on to help numerous racers through the business in which he was a partner, DeBobs, one of the early racing parts houses in the Northwest.

Donny Fry was a three-time champion between 1993 and 2000 in the competitive 360 sprint car class. Fry will join his father, 2013 Larry Spoon Distinguish Award winner Del Fry, in the EARHoF.

“This is great. It means a lot to me,” Fry said when notified of his pending induction.

Noel Rich drove successfully at the old Evergreen Speedway on Clemons Hill in 1955 and 1956 and continued to drive when the racers moved to the Fairgrounds in Elma, but he eventually turned his talents to building, wrenching and owning cars. Rich was part of the success of 2012 EARHoF Inductee Ray Stevens, who nominated Rich but passed away before seeing him inducted. Stevens once told the EARHoF that Rich did so much for racing in Elma it would be a crime to not put him in the Hall of Fame.

Larry DeMoss got his start in racing crew chiefing for the Dale “Kamikaze Kid” Underwood in limited modifieds, stock car, and modifieds. DeMoss has supported numerous racers and the track as a whole through his Cut Rate Auto Parts stores, support that has continued for approximately 50 years.

“This 2020 Class is another outstanding group showing the diversity for which the racers at Elma have always been known,” stated Rick Leighty. “We at the EARHoF are thrilled to welcome six individuals who have left a legacy at Grays Harbor Raceway. We welcome them with open arms.”

The 12th annual induction ceremony for the EARHoF will commence on Saturday, March 14, at the Grays Harbor Fairgrounds Pavillion.

New for 2020 will be the addition of the Inaugural EARHoF Race Car Display, featuring the vintage cars of the Golden Wheels Fraternity, along with cars representing the different classes that will be racing at the raceway this season. Doors open at 4 p.m. The cars will be displayed in the Exhibition Hall of the Pavilion until 7 p.m.

Admission to the activities leading up to the induction ceremonies is $10 and is open to all ages. Induction activities will take place in the Pavilion Meeting Room. Activities include a silent auction, a dessert auction, memorabilia display, an inductee Q&A and guest speaker Fred Rannard Jr.

One-hundred percent of the proceeds will be used by the volunteer non-profit EARHoF to preserve and honor the racing heritage of Grays Harbor Raceway and the EARHoF Scholarships.