Cross Country Roundup: Monte boys win Evergreen 1A team title

Montesano’s boys and Forks’ girls take Evergreen 1A cross country crowns

Montesano’s boys used their balance and depth to walk off with team honors in the Evergreen 1A League cross country championships on Oct. 19 at soggy Lake Sylvia State Park.

Forks’ Samuel Gomez took individual honors with a time of 17:53 for 5,000 meters. Monte’s Martin Shuck, Braden Stowers, Josef Aschenbrenner, Andy Fry and Connor Parkinson, however, swept the next five places.

That gave the Bulldog boys a total of 20 points, 31 ahead of runner-up Forks.

“Despite the condition of the course, the kids ran well as a group,” Monte coach James Edwards said. He cited Aschenbrenner for particular improvement.

Forks’ girls were even more dominant. Individual champion Enid Enastegui (with a time of 20:34) led a Spartan sweep of the top six places.

Montesano’s Madelyn Prall, who took seventh, was the top Grays Harbor female runner.

Hoquiam’s Carlos Juarez established a course personal record in placing ninth among the boys. Grizzly freshman Valerie Roloff had a significant personal best in placing eighth in the girls race.

“We’ve been nursing some injuries for the past two weeks, so I was really impressed with the whole team today,” HHS coach Carly Giles said.

Elma’s Leeza Brown was 12th in the girls race. Eagle senior Gunner Jones was 13th among the boys.

Montesano’s Aric Jacklyn and Maia Young were the junior high winners.

Next up for all concerned is the District IV championships on Oct. 28 at Woodland.


Grays Harbor runners in top 20

2. Martin Shuck (Montesano) 17:55. 3. Braden Stowers (Montesano) 17:59. 4. Josef Aschenbrenner (Montesano) 18:09. 5. Andy Fry (Montesano) 18:12. 6. Connor Parkinson (Montesano) 18:15. 9. Carlos Juarez (Hoquiam) 18:50. 10. Tucker Stecher (Montesano) 19:07.

13. Gunner Jones (Elma) 19:40. 14. Tyler Bristow (Elma) 19:54. 15. Braedon McMillan (Elma) 19:59. 16. Tucker Holcomb (Elma) 20:15. 17. Alex Tomko (Hoquiam) 20:15. 18. Chammann Nann (Elma) 20:15. 19. Evan Ramstad (Montesano) 20:20. 20. Samuel Borcherding (Montesano) 20:24.


Grays Harbor runners in top 20

7. Madelyn Prall (Montesano) 24:05. 8. Valerie Roloff (Hoquiam) 24:17. 10. Madolyn Olson (Montesano) 24:22.

12. Leeza Brown (Elma) 25:36. 13. Lisa Oppelt (Elma) 25:37. 16. Savannah Lutz (Hoquiam) 26:00. 19. Jennifer Cole (Hoquiam) 26:17. 20. Jennifer Goulet (Hoquiam) 26:35.