Cities making emergency orders

  • Thu Mar 19th, 2020 1:30am
  • News

Most cities across Grays Harbor County have started taking efforts to help stem the spread of coronavirus.

Aberdeen, Cosmopolis, Elma, Hoquiam,McCleary, Montesano, Oakville and Ocean Shores have all issued some degree of emergency declaration, which allows them to closing city buildings more broadly to public access, change work requirements and remove some restrictions from obtaining supplies.

As of Tuesday morning, only Westport had yet to enact an emergency order, though Mayor Rob Bearden was drafting one.

In all cities, staff will be available via telephone and emails. Emergency services are still in place and responding. The cities will continue to collect utility payments via online or telephone and most have a bill dropoff box method outside their buildings. The emergency declaration allows governments to take the measures of entering into contracts for necessary supplies without the usual drawn out legal requirements, “excepting mandatory constitutional requirements,” according to state law RCW 38.52.070(2).