Candidates list grows, especially in Ocean Shores

Still few contested races in county

Story updated Wednesday at 3:30 p.m..

There are three races for Aberdeen City Council that have yet to draw a candidate as of late Wednesday afternoon. Races for Ward 3 Councilman Jeff Cook’s, Ward 4 Councilwoman Margo Shortt’s and Ward 5 Councilman Pete Schave’s seats have yet to attract candidates willing to pay the $47.22 fee to enter the race. Robert J. Rodgers filed to fill the Ward 1 Position 1 seat currently occupied by James Cook.

Candidates continue to step forward in Ocean Shores, where Eric Noble has filed to fill the Position 7 seat he was appointed to last year. David Linn also has filed to seek the Position 7 job.

In Westport, Kathryn Franzen has decided to take on Rose Jensen to fill Councilwoman Brandi Holmes’ Position 5 seat.

Story updated Tuesday at 3:30 p.m.

Ocean Shores continues its tradition of political activism.

As of Tuesday afternoon, there were six contested races for this fall’s elections. Three of those races were for Ocean Shores positions.

In the race for mayor of Ocean Shores, incumbent Crystal Dingler will face off against Carlos Roldan and Dan Marlowe. Richard Wills, Lorraine Hardin and John Schroeder are vying for OS Councilwoman Lisa Griebel’s Position 3 seat. Griebel has yet to enter the race. And Councilman Bob Peterson faces a challenge from Chuck Anderson for the OS Council Position 6 job.

In Hoquiam, Mayor Jasmine Dickhoff has decided to seek re-election. Ben Winkelman was the first person to file for that position.

Hospital District 2’s third district seat has two candidates: Lynn Csernotta and Al Smith. They seek to fill Miles Logenbaugh’s seat.

And the race for mayor of Aberdeen remains unchanged from yesterday with three people filed as of Tuesday afternoon.

Monday at 5:30 p.m.

Two candidates filed to challenge incumbent Aberdeen Mayor Erik Larson’s bid for re-election, Hoquiam Mayor Jasmine Dickhoff and City Councilman Ben Winkelman have filed for mayor, and incumbent Ocean Shores Mayor Crystal Dingler has a challenger in Carlos Roldan as of Monday evening, the first day of candidate filing for the 2019 election.

Aberdeen Ward 5 Councilman Pete Schave and current Aberdeen City Council President Tawni Andrews will face Larson in the primary. The top-two vote getters in any race move on to the general election in November.

In other mayoral races, Kyle Pauley has filed for Mayor of Cosmopolis; incumbent Vini Samuel has filed for re-election in Montesano, as has incumbent Westport Mayor Rob Bearden. Angelo M. Cilluffo has filed for Mayor of Oakville.

Other candidate filings in Grays Harbor County Monday included:

Port of Grays Harbor

Commissioner 1: Phil Papac

Commissioner 2: Tom Quigg

Hospital District 1

Position 3: Andrew (Drew) Hooper

Position 5: Gary Thumser

Hospital District 2

Commissioner District 1: Chris Thomas

Commissioner District 2: Michael Bruce

Commissioner District 3: Lynn Csernotta, Al Smith, Richard Thompson

Position 1: David T. Quigg

Position 2: Scott Dilley

Aberdeen Mayor

Erik Larson, Pete Schave, Tawni Andrews

Aberdeen Council

Ward 1: Robert J. Rodgers

Ward 2: Nathan Kennedy

Ward 6: Dee Anne Shaw

Cosmopolis Mayor

Kyle Pauley, Steve Davis

Cosmopolis City Council

Position 2: Stana Cummings

Elma Mayor

Jim Sorensen

Elma City Council

Position 4: Charles Butterfield

Position 5: Josh Collette

Hoquiam Mayor

Ben Winkelman, Jasmine Dickhoff

Hoquiam City Council

Ward 1 Position 1: Dave Wilson Sr.

Ward 2 Position 3: Steven J. Puvogel

Ward 5 Position 9: Brenda Carlstrom

Ward 6 Position 12: Dave Hinchen

McCleary Mayor

Brenda Orffer

McCleary City Council

Position 1: Jenna Amsbury

Position 2: Brycen Huff

Montesano Mayor

Vini Samuel

Montesano City Council

Position 4: Brooke Chapman-Hoiness, Dave Skaramuca

Position 5: Megan M. Valentine

Position 7: Dan Wood

Oakville Mayor

Angelo M. Cilluffo

Oakville City Council

Position 1: Thomas Sims

Position 2: Traci D. Fallow

Position 3: Dan Martin

Ocean Shores Mayor

Carlos Roldan, Crystal Dingler, Dan Marlowe

Ocean Shores City Council

Position 2: Kathryn L. Sprigg

Position 3: Richard Wills, Lorraine Hardin, John Schroeder

Position 4: Jon Martin

Position 6: Chuck Anderson, Bob Peterson

Position 7: Eric Noble, David Linn

Westport Mayor

Rob Bearden

Westport City Council

Position 2: Robert N. Parnell

Position 5: Rose Jensen, Kathryn Franzen

School District 5 – Aberdeen

Position 1: Jennifer Durney

Position 3: Jessica Jurasin

School District 28 – Hoquiam

Position 1: Don Oliver

Position 2: Hoki Moir

School District 64 — North Beach

Director District 4: Jessica J. Holt

School District 65 — McCleary

Director District 1: Rebecca Scott

School District 66 – Montesano

Director District 3: Doug Streeter

Director District 4: Tiffany Schweppe

Director District 5: Kelly Vance

School District 68 – Elma

Director District 2: Justin A. Cristelli

Director District 3: Bernadette Bower

Director District 4: Bethany Whipple-Boling

School District 99 — Cosmopolis

Director District 5 (at large): Paula Jones

School District 61 — Rochester

School Board Director District 2: Grant Rodeheaver

Candidate filings in Pacific County include:

Port of Ilwaco Commissioner District 3: Al “Butch” Smith

Port of Willapa Harbor

Commissioner District 3: Todd P. Stephens

Long Beach Mayor: Jerry Phillips

Long Beach Council

Member 3: Tina McGuire

Raymond City Council

Member 3: Colby Rogers

Member 6: Ian Farrell

South Bend City Council

City Council Member 1: Daryle Buchanan, Wyatt Kuiken

City Council Member 2: Darren Manlow

School District #101

Director District 1: Anna Taft

Director District 5: John Holtermann

School District #116

Director District 1: Jim Olsen

Director District 4: Ron Bell

School District #118

Director District 1: Dave Eastham, Carolanne Watness

Director District 2: Steve Rogers, Wendy J. Manlow

Director Position 2 (at large): Todd Strozyk, Rhonda Johnson

School District #155

Director District 3: Chuck Hendrickson

School District #160

Director District 1: Andy Portmann

Director District 2: Alyssa Rowlett

Position 4 (at large): Pat Matlock

Hospital District 2

Commissioner District 3: Dave Vetter

Commissioner Position 1: Michael S. Lignoski, Toni M. Williams

Hospital District 3

Commissioner District 2: Sandra Stonebreaker

Commissioner District 4: Ariel Smith